Landing Page Conversion Rate

What is landing page conversion rate?

What is a good landing page conversion rate?

How to calculate landing page conversion rate

How to increase landing page conversion rate

What is landing page conversion rate?

A landing page conversion rate is defined as the number of visitors to a landing page who submit their contact details on the domain (e.g. submit a form) divided by the total number of page visitors.

Depending on the characteristics of your business, the call to action (CTA) bottom may invite visitors to perform actions other than submitting a form. What matters is that your landing page should include only one call to action bottom that tells visitors what to do next. Pages with multiple CTA bottoms usually lead to lower conversion rates. 

What is a good landing page conversion rate?

A good landing page conversion rate varies significantly from industry to industry. Factors such as product, service and target audience play a key role in defining a good landing page conversion rate for a business. However, the average landing page conversion rate falls between 1.5 to 2.3%

Industries such as travel and hospitality tend to have a higher landing page conversion rate. This is because users who search for flight tickets, accommodation, etc. have a clearer search intent.

How to calculate landing page conversion rate

To calculate the conversion rate of your landing page you need to consider two key elements:

  • The number of the people who visited your landing page

  • The number of converted visitors (who submitted a form or performed another action in response to your specific CTA)

For example, let’s say 10,000 people visited your landing page last month. Of those, 200 visitors submitted a form, providing you with their contact info. The conversion rate of your landing page is 200 ÷ 10,000 = 0.02. Multiplied by 100, your landing page has a conversion rate of 2%.

How to increase landing page conversion rate

The information that you get from converted visitors is valuable for your hyper-personalization strategy, allowing you to tailor your marketing messages to their specific preferences. This means that increasing the conversion rate of your landing page can drive sales and reduce customer acquisition cost (CAC).

The following takeaways help you increase your landing page conversion rate:

  • Optimizing landing page (LPO): Landing page optimization (LPO) refers to the process of enhancing a visitor’s perception of a landing page by optimizing its content and interface in order to make the page more attractive to the target group. 

    landing page optimization

  • Improving text readability: The readability of a landing page impacts its conversion rate. Research shows landing pages with low text readability have a low conversion rate. Using long sentences, jargon and super technical words decrease the readability of the page. Make sure the content of your landing page is concise, visually appealing and relevant to the needs of your target audience. 

  • Rewarding customers’ actions: One of the most effective ways to increase the conversion rate of your landing pages is rewarding the action that you want the visitors to perform. For example, after the visitors submit a form with their contact info, you can reward them with a coupon code that can be redeemed with their first purchase.

For more on how rewarding customers’ actions at every stage of their journey is key to creating an outstanding customer experience, check out our blog post, A ‘reward everything’ mindset and the future of customer experience.

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